The Question of Health Care Reform and My Taxes

12 07 2009

More Than Happy to Do My Part

The question proposed to me was “Do you think the rich should be taxed at a higher rate to help fund healthcare as a right for Americans?”

My short answer is a definite yes providing that a public option is part of the equation.

As a matter of background, I’m a small business owner and in the high income bracket. I have 86 full time employees and 8-12 part time and/or temporary employees. All my full time employees receive complete medical coverage. My company insures 79 of them, the other 7 are covered by their spouse. It costs the business approximately $516,000 last year.

There are three parts my answer; 1. The long run economic advantage, 2. The moral basis, & 3. My duty as a patriotic American.

First. The myth I always hear is that if small business owners have their taxes raised, it will cause them to slash jobs. Nonsense. In fact, it will do just the opposite. In the long run it will be a savings to me personally, to my company and my employees, and the US economy as a whole.

When insurance companies have to compete, prices go down. That is one of the many wonderful things about capitalism. I know there are a lot of politicians & lobbyists claiming that big insurance companies can’t compete with a public option. If they can’t compete, then let them go out of business. The strong will survive. Always have, always will.

Second. The other issue is a question of morals and doing the right thing for your fellow man. It is a disgrace that America is the only industrialized country in the world that does not have adequate health care for all its citizens.

I am not a Mother Teresa and never will be, but I can certainly pay a few extra dollars to help this great nation and its people. It comes back to the question of what do you want your life to be about? If your life’s ambition is to keep everything for yourself and not help to provide the basic necessities for those less fortunate, then god forbid.

Anyone who has determined that their self interests is more important that the betterment of society as a whole is sadly immoral. Any so-called Christian who objects to contributing what they can to create a better health care system for all Americans needs to reread Christ’s teachings.

Third. I grew up believing America is better than any nation in the world. Unfortunately, when it comes to health care, the World Health Organization ranks the USA at #37. That alone should say it all. How anyone in America can idly sit by and allow this to continue because they don’t want to pay more in taxes is beyond me. Shame on them.

I consider it a patriotic duty to do whatever it takes to make America number one again. If that requires paying more in taxes, so be it.

Anyone who is in the top income bracket, who is more concerned about taxes than doing what is right is dead wrong. They are lazy, unethical, un-American and unpatriotic.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

